Every Day is a Second Chance

Normally, my day starts with short trips to the bakery and listening to cats purr from an alley nearby. I’m a morning person. No matter how late I stayed up all night binge-watching some insightful TEDx Talks or mushy Korean drama, my body clock never fails to wake me up before the sun fully ascends. It can get physically taxing sometimes especially if there are errands to run throughout the day and it requires you to have a hundred percent energy level. But frankly, I like waking up before everybody else does. There’s nothing but me, the universe, peace and quiet. I would peek through my window and just witness how beautiful the alchemy of the sky is from dusk to light.

photo-1463265305631-8a25b1e5b887

Dusk to light. There is something about sunrise that makes my heart beat faster than a horse in a Kentucky derby. The beams of light penetrate through my vessels and spread joy in my whole being. “Thank You,” I mutter as the sun gradually soars, “thank You God for a brand new day.

The core reason why mornings are very important to me is because sunrise marks a brand new day. A brand new day to start over. A brand new day to be whoever you wanted to be. A brand new day to put yourself back together completely differently.

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. (Lamentations 3:22-23)

Our God is a God of new beginnings. His love keeps no record of wrongs. Forgot to read your bible last night? God says, “Don’t worry. I still love you.” Neglected to attend church service for a month? God says, “Don’t worry. I still love you.” Turned your back from God for years and lead a sinful life? God says, “At least you’re back now. That’s all that matters. Don’t worry. I still love you.” The Lord loves you not because of who you are and what you’ve done but because of who He is.

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)

Second chances are gift from above. If you were ever handed one, don’t put it to waste. Use it to have a stronger bond with Jesus. God doesn’t want a superficial relationship. He would prefer us be totally nonchalant towards Him than halfheartedly for Him. He wants you to make Him the center of your life not just a part of it. You’re either in or out.

I am a sinner and the past few months could have been really tough for me, but I let God be my North Star and tell me what to do. I had to go through the process of repentance, rediscovery, and reconstruction. In all honesty, the hardest part was surrendering every area of my life because I’m used to having been in control of nearly everything. But I gained something in return of my obedience. Now, with God, any challenge given to me seems so light that I feel like floating. I’d always hear Him say, “Stay put, sweetheart. I got this.”

New beginnings require sincere repentance.

The Lord gave His children the Holy Spirit to convince us of the holiness and greatness of God. This causes us to perceive whether the actions we make are sins. The Holy Spirit also exists to tug our hearts and knock in our minds when to repent and turn to God for forgiveness. Sincere repentance is not just a mere involvement of deep feelings. It cannot be measured by the number of hours you spent knelt down and crying out to God. It involves faith and commitment.

Most people stop here. They think that God’s forgiveness is the end game. But because of our human nature and the world we live in, we will sin again. So more than sincere repentance, having the strength to struggle against the negative pulls is important.

The scripture makes it very clear that repentance is a change of mind resulting in a change of mind (Acts 26:20; Rev 2:5; Mat 3:8)

Every time I feel lost and when everything doesn’t make any sense to me at all, I feel the urge to rediscover God. I’d always go back to the basics –The Bible. How well do we know Jesus Christ? There are a lot of voices around us. But listen to the inner voice that’s calling you. Come back home and have a fresh start.

You are more powerful than you can ever think of.

If you’re going through a situation where you feel stuck and hopeless, let me remind you this: you always have a choice. Whether you allow fear and suffering to succumb you or take courage and lay hold of God’s gift of new beginnings. Remember that you are powerful. You can change your circumstances by the choices you make. So either let that power make you or break you.

I pray that you choose God and start with a clean slate. And watch your life turn 180 degrees like how mine did. And it certainly has never been the same.

They said love is sweeter the second time around. And that is because you are not the same person you were then.

You learn from your mistakes.

You learn that choosing your ways over God’s best will never give you the result you desired. Worse, the sinful life you chose drifted you away from God and lead you to more sin, pain, failure, loneliness, and suffering.

But this is what God is telling you right now: “I no longer remember those sins. Surrender your life to me. Let’s start anew.” And sweetheart, when you do, you will learn that there’s no greater love than God’s love for you—forgiving, bountiful, eternal, and unconditional.

One thought on “Every Day is a Second Chance

Leave a Reply

